RSS Feed

Mongolian Beef

Ah, I’ve been so incredibly busy since I’ve come back home! So I apologize that I haven’t updated in a while, but work has been taking up all my time lately. Recently, my boyfriend has become obsessed with P.F Changs Mongolian Beef so the other night after deliberating about what to get us for dinner, I decided to make him some (the only P.F Changs we have is at the mall and well, you know how crazy the mall is at Christmas!). Rather than making classic white rice to go along with it, I made the Garlic Noodles Kamil went gaga over last time as well.

Mongolian Beef

Adapted from Rasa Malaysia and BlogChef.Net

Marinade

  • 8 ounces beef tenderloin (I know nothing about meat so I grabbed what was labeled as “good for stir fry” at the grocery store)
  • 1 teaspoon corn starch
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine

Sauce

  • ½ teaspoon ginger (my grocery store didn’t have ginger! So I used a pinch of ground ginger…I know, I know they taste different…)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic (2 cloves)
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine
  • ½ teaspoon white pepper
  • 2 green onions (sliced)
  • Oil (for frying)
  1. Marinate the beef slices with the marinade for 30 minutes (I let them marinate for probably 2 hours)
  2. To make the sauce- in a sauce pan heat 2 teaspoons of oil. Add garlic and minced ginger, stir fry 10 seconds. Add soy sauce, wine and water. Add brown sugar and dissolve into the sauce. Add white pepper. Bring the sauce to a boil and boil for 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat
  3. Heat up about a cup of oil in your wok to about medium heat. Add the beef slices to the wok and cook for 3 minutes
  4. Remove the meat from the wok with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels. Drain all of the oil from the wok expect about a tablespoon. Add onions to the wok and stir fry for 2 minutes. Add the steak back to the wok and pour in the sauce. Cook while stirring until the sauce began to bubble

Here are the garlic noodles (I actually used lo-mein noodles this time because that’s all my store had)

Close-up of the sauce for the garlic noodles

And here they are all mixed together!

I was a little nervous about walking away from the skillet to take pictures of the beef so this was the only one I managed to take. Still looks tasty though, doesn’t it? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

