RSS Feed

Upgraded Sugar Cookies

Posted on

Okay so basically I had grown tired of looking at the same recipes on Food Network and Williams Sonoma so I started looking through recipe blogs and thought it would be really cool to have one! It’s just a little something for me to keep track of recipes I’ve tried, modified, etc., like an online journal if you will.

Yesterday was my Latin IV second annual pond party and I knew I wanted to bring a dessert of some sort so I chose sugar cookies. Now I know you can never go wrong with a Martha recipe, but I was feeling a little creative and wanted to try something new so I modified her recipe for old fashioned sugar cookies (http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/old-fashioned-sugar-cookies?backto=true&backtourl=/photogallery/sugar-cookie-recipes#slide_1). Instead of using three cups all purpose flour, I decided to use three cups of bread flour to get a chewier texture. I also added two packages of instant vanilla pudding mix and omitted the lemon zest/lemon juice, just because I’m not really a fan of lemon-y desserts.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed, light-brown sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • Sanding sugar for coating

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl; set aside
  2. Combine sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed 30 seconds
  3. Add butter; mix until pale and fluffy, about 1 minute
  4. Mix in instant vanilla pudding mix until combined
  5. Mix in eggs, 1 at a time
  6. Reduce speed; gradually add flour mixture, and mix until just combined
  7. Scoop dough using a 2-inch ice cream scoop; space cookies 2 inches apart on parchment-lined baking sheets. Flatten cookies slightly with a spatula. Sprinkle tops with sanding sugar
  8. Bake cookies until golden, about 12-14 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks for 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to racks using a spatula; let cool completely

Now for the results!

I was pretty happy with the results (minus the first batch that came out a little burnt and crispier than I like) and got some good feedback. However I would definitely suggest NOT omitting the lemon juice because my batter came out kind of crumbly and difficult to work with. If I were to attempt these again, I would most likely substitute the lemon juice for vanilla extract to make the vanilla flavor more pronounced.

Leave a Reply

