RSS Feed

Patience is a Virtue

Posted on

I’m normally a pretty patient person but when it comes to baking, I have very little of it. I always tend to avoid recipes that say “freeze for *insert ridiculous time here*” and I make sure to stay away from recipes involving yeast because the dough takes forever to rise! But, since I just got my new hand mixer with the dough hooks, I decided to do my best and try Alton Brown’s overnight cinnamon rolls recipe (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/overnight-cinnamon-rolls-recipe/index.html). This was definitely the ultimate torture because not only do I have to wait for the dough to rise, but I have to refrigerate the rolls overnight too! This is only the second recipe I’ve ever made involving yeast and I’m starting this blog as I’m waiting for the dough to rise. We’ll see how it turns out…

Now I’m left with a heap of dough and 2 1/2 hours left to let it rise…

…2 1/2 hours later I discover I’m horrible at rolling

Ah finally we’re getting somewhere!

But now we wait overnight šŸ˜¦

Finally they’re done!! I decided not to wait the full 30 minutes for them to rise in the oven because the oven didn’t retain the heat from the boiling water past 20 minutes and they looked slightly puffy before then anyways. I am so proud of how they came out considering it was my first time ever making cinnamon buns and if there was a way to describe to you the smell of freshly baked buns, believe me I would. They were just incredible. And then once the icing was on, they looked to die for.

8 responses »

  1. um, these look too tasty. can you be my personal baker?

    Reply
  2. katieallover

    Haha absolutely! Thanks for commenting on them! šŸ˜€

    Reply
  3. anytime, i love you!

    Reply
  4. These look absolutely delicious! Hopefully there will be some way you can make them for us this fall!

    Reply
  5. So I just went back to look at these and i want some so badly

    Reply
  6. Joelle Dembowski

    I simply want to tell you that I’m all new to blogging and actually enjoyed your web-site. Most likely Iā€™m going to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with superb articles. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your website page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

