RSS Feed

Raspberry Cheesecake Thumbprints

Last night I happened to be laying in bed and thinking about what food I miss most now that I don’t eat any of the junk that I used to and immediately what came to mind were those AMAZING cheesecake snack bars from Philadelphia! But sadly I don’t even think they make them any more, it was so long ago. For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, maybe this will bring back some memories…

They have this recipe posted on the Kraft website but I wanted to get a little more creative (why I didn’t just make the stupid bars I’ll never know). I decided to do a take on Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Thumbprints (http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/chocolate-thumbprints-my-home) but instead of going with chocolate balls, I decided to make cheesecake cookies. And rather than using her chocolate ganache recipe, I found it would be more fitting to use a white chocolate raspberry ganache in memory of these heavenly cheesecake bars!

Cheesecake Cookie Ingredients

  • ½ cup cream cheese
  • ½ cup butter, soft
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup all purpose flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. In a large bowl, beat together butter and cream cheese. Gradually beat in sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and salt
  3. Whisk together baking powder and flour in a small bowl and, mixing at low speed, add to cream cheese mixture
  4. Freeze dough while you make the ganache (http://fieldsofcake.blogspot.com/2008/08/white-chocolate-raspberry-ganache.html)
  5. Pull batter out of freezer and drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet (I used a #20 scoop)
  6. Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes, until the bottom edge just barely turns brown

Ganache Ingredients

  • 10 ounces fine white chocolate (cut into 1/4 inch or less pieces)
  • 3 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 Tbsp. light corn syrup
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup seedless raspberry preserves (I just used smuckers)

Directions

  1. Place chocolate and butter in a medium heatproof bowl and set aside
  2. Bring cream, corn syrup and pinch of salt to a boil in a small sauce pan over medium heat, immediately pour over chocolate and butter, shimmy the bowl to help the chocolate and butter settle under the cream and cover the bowl and allow to sit for two minutes
  3. Uncover and stir gently until mixture is smooth and silky
  4. Whisk in raspberry preserves until fully incorporated and smooth

Now after this point, everything just kind of went down hill. For some reason I will never understand, I was convinced that Martha’s recipe required you to make the indent in the chocolate ball, pour the ganache in, and then bake it like so:

However, I was sadly mistaking because when I pulled out my cookies, they did NOT resemble hers at all! One thing I learned is that these cookies spread…a lot. And after looking at my sad pile of glop, I looked back only to discover you’re supposed to bake the cookies and add in the ganache AFTER baking. FAIL!

I guess this one didn’t turn out too bad…

It was too bad that I didn’t realize my error until it was too late and I could only scrape up enough batter for two more cookies. This time, I made the indent BEFORE baking but I was still disappointed when they came out because like I said, the batter spread a lot so the mini well was hardly visible by the time they were done baking.

Now I was getting stressed! Out of frustration, I decided to poke an indent into the cookie myself while they were still soft (since I had just pulled them out of the oven). Then I poured the ganache into the indent and I FINALLY ended up with the successful cookie I had been looking for!

But I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that cheesecake cookies just aren’t meant to look like “thumbprints.” The recipe only calls for one cup of all purpose flour which makes the cookies more flat/thin than Martha’s chocolate thumbprints which has two cups of all purpose flour (the more gluten, the chewier the cookie). I suppose the one good cookie I managed to make was somewhat of a success and I was even going to melt some more white chocolate and drizzle it over the cookies. However, based on the results, I decided to just call it a day.

2 responses »

  1. Ahh Katie, those bars were so amazing when they used to sell them!!! And all of this food you’re making looks even more amazing! … You seriously need to open your own bakery someday

    Reply

Leave a Reply

