RSS Feed

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

The other night I bought this new cupcake recipe book while waiting for my food at the Cheesecake Factory. The ideas are really creative but I didn’t realize they all require self-rising flour which is kind of annoying because I didn’t have it and didn’t feel like buying it, so I had to make my own (1 cup= 1 cup all purpose flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt).

Yesterday I was bored waiting for Kamil to get out of finals so I decided to try one of Clark’s recipes for lemon meringue cupcakes. I had to make my own lemon curd which I have never done before and I really don’t think it came out the way it should have. It just seemed way too buttery.

Lemon Curd Ingredients

  • 4 egg yolks (SAVE EGG WHITES- you’ll need them later)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp grated lemon peel
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp butter

Directions

  1. Combine ingredients in a small heatproof bowl over small pot of simmering water, stirring constantly until mixture thickens slightly and coats the back of a spoon
  2. Remove from heat and cover tightly
  3. Refrigerate until cold

It was definitely starting to coat the back of my spoon but it still didn’t seem to have the right thickness

Cupcake Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 2 tsp. finely grated lemon peel
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 1/4 cups self rising flour

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, line standard muffin pan with baking cups
  2. Beat butter, lemon peel, sugar, and eggs in a small bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy
  3. Stir in milk and coconut, then sifted flour
  4. Divide mixture among baking cups and smooth surface to even them out
  5. Bake for 20 minutes then place on wire rack to cool
  6. Increase oven temperature to 425 degrees
  7. Once cooled, cut a 3/4 inch deep hole in the center of each cupcake, fill with curd, and discard tops

It broke my heart to have to make a well in each of my cupcakes. I thought it was going to be difficult to do since most cupcake tops are really tender and moist but this cupcake was tougher because of the shredded coconut so it wasn’t bad at all

Meringue Ingredients

  • 4 egg whites (I told you you would need these!)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 3/4 cup shredded coconut, finely chopped

Directions

  1. Beat egg whites in a small bowl with electric mixer until soft peaks form
  2. Gradually add sugar, beating until sugar dissolves
  3. Fold in coconut- be careful NOT to break the egg whites!
  4. Spoon meringue into a piping bag fitted with a 1/2 inch plain tube
  5. Pipe meringue on top of each cupcake, place on baking sheet
  6. Bake in oven for about 5 minutes or until meringue is browned slightly

As you can tell, I didn’t have a piping bag and I tried making one on my own but it just failed miserable so I pretty much ended up dumping the meringue on top of the cupcake…

So technically my meringue didn’t come out as fluffy as it should have but hey, they still look cute and toasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

