RSS Feed

Fried Chimichangas

The other night Kamil and I were headed out to eat at Uno only to find out it was closed after getting all the way to Manchester. So then we decided to try this Mexican restaurant called like Azteca or something. The food itself wasn’t that great but the dessert menu looked spectacular. Kamil told me to make him a fried chimichanga, which is one of the things they offered. Now I have made these once before with an apple pie and cream cheese filling center instead. But Kamil told me he wanted these again, only without the apple pie filling.

Filling Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1 8 oz. package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (I added this just for flavor)

You’ll also need

  • Flour tortillas
  • Frying oil
  • Sanding cinnamon and sugar (just eyeball it)

Directions

  1. Heat oil in small pot
  2. Beat egg
  3. Beat in cream cheese and sugar with egg
  4. Beat in vanilla extract
  5. Spoon mixture into center of flour tortilla
  6. Wrap as tightly as possible, moistening the edges of the tortilla with water (I’m not sure how effective this was because some of the filling came out regardless)
  7. Drop into hot oil and brown on both sides
  8. Drain on paper towel
  9. Coat with cinnamon sugar mixture (be careful- they’re fragile!)

Last time, in order to avoid the tortilla opening up and the filling spilling out when frying, I remember wrapping the chimichangas in plastic wrap and freezing them for about a half hour. I didn’t find this very effective either because when I thawed them out, the filling turned to well, basically soup and started pouring out the edges anyway even before I got them to the oil. Then I panicked and threw them in but the center was still frozen which made for a disaster when frying. I guess they still came out okay, I mean Kamil still ate them. But this time I just said forget freezing them and “sealed” them as best as I could. Yes they still opened up slightly but at least they weren’t frozen inside!

Leave a Reply

