RSS Feed

Double Dipped, Triple Chocolate Brownie Bites

Have you ever felt so much anger build up inside of you that you just wanted to scream at someone you don’t even know? Okay, that’s probably a bit extreme but seriously work was SO annoying today! My first real shift in almost a week+extreme stomach pains+little sleep= 0 desire to be there. Honestly, people walk into Cosi (keep in mind these are REGULAR customers) and stare at the menu for about 10 minutes before coming up to my register just to order the same thing they always get. Why don’t you mix it up a little bit?! Or if you knew you were going to order the same exact thing, just do it. The menu doesn’t change.

Anyways, so during my down time I started day dreaming about what I could blog about next. I was recently inspired by Bakerella’s cake balls and decided to try something like it, only with brownies instead. So as soon as I got out of work, I ran over to Stonewall Kitchen and bought myself an 8″ square baking pan that’s been taunting me for a few weeks now (only $3.99!) These little creations of mine sound like quite a mouthful but really they are the tiniest, most delicate things I have ever made.

Brownie Recipe

New York Times

  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, more for greasing pan
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I substituted bread flour again, I was going for a chewier texture)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, optional (I used it- Vanilla makes everything better!)
  1. Heat oven to 350°
  2. Combine chocolate and butter in a small saucepan over very low heat, stirring occasionally. When chocolate is just about melted, remove from heat, and continue to stir until mixture is smooth
  3. Meanwhile, grease an 8-inch-square baking pan. If you like, also line it with waxed or parchment paper and grease that
  4. Transfer mixture to a bowl, and stir in sugar
  5. Beat in eggs, one at a time
  6. Add flour (and salt and vanilla if you are using them), and stir to incorporate. Stop stirring when no traces of flour remain
  7. Pour into pan, and bake 20 to 30 minutes, or until set and barely firm in the middle. Cool on a rack before cutting

In order to avoid burning the chocolate, I kept it on the setting just above low heat

After 20 minutes they weren’t done baking so I stuck them in for 5 minutes longer. Look closely- you can see the indents from the toothpicks I used to check whether they were done

Aren’t they adorable?! After they cooled off, I lined a baking sheet with parchment paper, chopped them up into little bite-size pieces, and stuck them in the freezer for about an hour so they could firm up

Chocolate Dipping Recipes

Taste of Home

  • 4 tbs butter-flavored shortening, divided
  • ≈2 cups white chocolate chips
  • ≈2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (I didn’t really measure these out, I just kind of guessed)
  1. Melt white chocolate chips with 2 tbs shortening on very low heat
  2. Remove from heat and dip each brownie bite in chocolate
  3. Freeze for another hour (they probably didn’t need this much time, about 30-40 minutes should do the trick)
  4. Melt semi-sweet chocolate chips with 2 tbs shortening on very low heat
  5. Remove from heat and dip each brownie bite in chocolate
  6. Top with sprinkles!!!! (if desired, but highly recommended :))

Aww look at my little troops! Obviously you don’t have to be too neat with this layer, as the semi-sweet chocolate will just cover it up anyway

2 responses »

  1. Nicolette Wallington

    Most of the blogs online are pretty much the same but i think you have a unique blog. Grats !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

