RSS Feed

Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Trust me, I like convenience just as much as the next person. But I mean…you can call me old fashioned here (hehe…I used old fashioned oats!) but nothing gets me more excited than a recipe where I can actually use my hands. I really can’t explain that, but I would never bother to invest in a pastry blender (even though they’re less than $5) when I can just mix everything together with my own two hands! I promise I’m not randomly rambling about hands vs. pastry blenders, it’s relevant to this recipe!

Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bar Recipe

Let’s Dish

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup raspberry jam
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8 inch square pan; set aside
  2. Combine brown sugar, flour, baking soda, salt, and rolled oats
  3. Rub in the butter using your hands or a pastry blender to form a crumbly mixture (of course I used my hands ;))
  4. Press 2 cups of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan
  5. Spread the jam to within 1/4 inch of the edge
  6. Sprinkle the remaining crumb mixture over the top, and lightly press it into the jam
  7. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until lightly browned. Allow to cool before cutting into bars

It was kind of hard to tell when they were “lightly browned” but because old fashioned oats take longer to cook than quick oats, I left them in for 35 minutes

This recipe was really straight forward and there’s absolutely nothing complicated about it, it was just something I wanted to make once I came across it because Kamil likes raspberry flavored things 🙂

Beware- they’re crumbly and messy but they smell amazing!

3 responses »

  1. Yum, I really like this too. Great photos! I’d love to try this soon.If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    Reply
  2. These look very good. I just emailed the recipe to my daughter, she is more the baker than I am. I do the main meal she does the desserts. Thinking this is a way better alternative to those grab and go bars that I pay way too much money for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

