RSS Feed

Let’s Go Bananas Part 1

Posted on

Okay it honestly feels like it’s been forever since I’ve updated this thing and that’s probably because it’s been over a week…D: yikes! To be honest I just haven’t had time and if I did have a spare moment, I just really didn’t feel like baking as sad as that sounds. But I hope to have gotten my inspiration back!
So I was cleaning at work the other day and I happened to notice that we had a bunch of bananas out that were browning really fast because of the heat. Obviously people weren’t going to be buying them and instead of just throwing them out, I asked my boss if I could take them home and bake with them. I ended up taking home 7 really, really ripe bananas and the first thing I had to make with them was well, banana bread of course!
Banana Bread Recipe
King Arthur Flour

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at cool room temperature
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar, light or dark, firmly packed (I used light)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I used ground ginger TOTALLY by accident since apparently I can’t read…but no one complained)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 medium or 2 large bananas)
  • 3 tablespoons apricot jam or orange marmalade, optional but tasty (I omitted this)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional (I used!)
  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F. Lightly grease a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan
  2. In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, beating till smooth
  3. Add the mashed bananas, jam, honey, and eggs, again beating until smooth
  4. Add the flour, then the walnuts, stirring just until smooth
  5. Spoon the batter into the prepared loaf pan, smoothing the top. Let it rest at room temperature for 10 minutes
  6. Bake the bread for 45 minutes, then gently lay a piece of aluminum foil across the top, to prevent over-browning
  7. Bake for an additional 25 minutes. Remove the bread from the oven; a long toothpick or cake tester inserted into the center should come out clean, with at most a few wet crumbs clinging to it. The tester shouldn’t show any sign of uncooked batter. If it does, bake the bread an additional 5 minutes, or until it tests done
  8. Allow the bread to cool for 10 minutes in the pan. Remove it from the pan, and cool it completely on a rack

The baking time for this bread was really weird for my oven. It usually bakes things faster than the recommended time but it seemed like every time I took it out to check it, the inside was still really moist. So I probably left it in for about 5 more minutes or so

I cut the loaf into two halves and brought half back into work the morning after I took the bananas home. By the time I got there the bread was still warm and everyone loved it! It was literally devoured within the first 2o minutes of being there. I guess the Cosi team put the Cosi bananas to good use 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I make up batches of banana bread and have ready to go in the oven that they are on a timer, so when we wake in the morning they have finished baking maybe 10 minutes before we are up. Way better than the smell of coffee in the morning. Well we still have coffee, but now we have it with fresh warm banana bread,

    Reply
    • That’s so awesome, I wish I had an oven like that. Or even a nicely functioning oven for that matter…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

