RSS Feed

Let’s Go Bananas Part 2

Posted on

After baking banana bread, I was still left with 4 ripe bananas that I had to use fast before they were completely rotten. I had been debating between quite a few recipes and I really wanted to attempt banana cake doughnuts but for some reason I settled on another Martha Stewart cupcake recipe. I will make those doughnuts one day, however!


Banana Cupcake Recipe

Martha Stewart

  • 3 cups sifted cake flour (not self-rising)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light-brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 4 very ripe large bananas, mashed (about 2 cups), plus sliced bananas for garnish
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners
  2. Whisk dry ingredients in a large bowl. Cream butter and sugar with a mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition
  3. Reduce speed to low. Mix any remaining wet ingredients in a bowl if needed (mashed bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla extract)
  4. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture in 3 additions, alternating with wet ingredients and ending with dry
  5. Scrape sides of bowl and stir pecans into batter
  6. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full
  7. Bake cupcakes until testers inserted into centers come out clean, about 20 minutes. Let cool in tins on wire racks

Cosi bananas! Soooo mushy…

At this point  I had to leave for work so I covered the bowl with aluminum foil and stuck it in the freezer. I googled it and people said you can freeze bananas and they won’t go bad!

Okay so pretty much exactly 24 hours later, I was finally ready to continue the process…

Now as for the frosting…again I was pressed for time because I had to go to work (believe me, I KNOW I work too much and I suppose I had time earlier in the day but I had to go with Kamil to pick up his brand new Dodge Journey!!!) so I decided against the recommended caramel buttercream frosting. Plus, I really didn’t want to sacrifice three sticks of unsalted butter that I constantly have to keep restocking anyway. My original plan was to buy some Duncan Hines caramel frosting while I was at Stop and Shop but they didn’t have it, so i opted for Betty Crocker’s coconut pecan frosting instead

I definitely had some trouble making the purchase because I normally NEVER buy any store bought frostings or cake mixes since it just isn’t the same. Also, the “frosting” didn’t even look or have the fluffy texture of frosting, it felt more like a spread if anything. That’s why I felt like I kind of took the dessert out of this recipe and transformed it into more of a quickbread-ish breakfast type deal…which I guess isn’t necessarily a bad thing. On the bright side, the frosting smelled fantastic! And I tried to keep up the pecan theme of the recipe, I just went a little more tropical with the combination of the banana and coconut

2 responses »

  1. They look yummy!
    I freeze my bananas when I don’t have time to get to them to make into something. My husband thinks it is gross, but it works and saves some money on the banana budget. Yes I have a banana budget, I love them and have to have every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

