RSS Feed

Mini Breakfast Part 2

For the longest time I had been ranting about how cool William Sonoma’s ebelskiver filled-pancake pan looked and everytime Kamil and I would walk past the store, I would slow down a bit just to comment on its beauty. Needless to say, I was SO excited when Kamil bought me the pan for my birthday (proably because I had complained about how badly I wanted it for so long) even though as I was opening it he told me “one of the gifts was really for him,” meaning I was supposed to make him breakfast with it asap. But obviously I didn’t object! For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, this pan is seriously the coolest invention ever.

Ebelskivers are simply light, puffy pancakes native to Denmark that can be filled with pretty much anything like fruit, chocolate chips, cheese, etc. This is about the third time I’ve used this pan and I think they turned out the most successful this time. They’re not tricky to make you just have to be extremely careful not to let the pan get too hot because they brown very quickly!

Cheesecake Ebelskiver Pancakes Recipe

Adapted from Williams Sonoma

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1 3/4 cups buttermilk
  • 4 Tbs. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  1. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, granulated sugar and salt
  2. In a small bowl, lightly whisk together the egg yolks and buttermilk. Whisk the yolk mixture into the flour mixture until well combined; the batter will be lumpy
  3. In another bowl, using an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the egg whites on high speed until stiff but not dry peaks form, 2 to 3 minutes. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the whites into the batter in two additions
  4. Put 1/2 tsp. butter in each well of a filled-pancake pan. Place over medium heat and heat until the butter begins to bubble. Pour 1 Tbs. batter into each well and cook until the bottoms are golden brown and crispy, 3 to 5 minutes. Put a little bit of the cheesecake filling plus additional fruit/chocolate chip fillings in center and push down. Using 2 wooden skewers, flip the pancakes over and cook until golden and crispy, about 3 minutes more. Transfer to a plate. Repeat with the remaining batter and filling

Cheesecake Filling Recipe

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)
  • diced strawberries (optional)
  • blueberries (optional)
  1. In a standing mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the cream cheese
  2. Add the sugar, egg, and vanilla and blend

This is the cheesecake filling by itself

Plain batter

…and the batter after folding in the egg whites. Now the fun can begin!

The recipe does yield quite a bit of pancakes. According to Williams Sonoma, you should get about 40 but I didn’t count

2 responses »

  1. Will be looking for that pan next time I am at my favorite kitchen supply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

