RSS Feed

Individual Raspberry Clafoutis

I feel that you should all know that I almost always hate myself in the morning. I’ve been having a lot of trouble sleeping lately and when I get tired of trying to sleep, I seem to always open my laptop and just start reading through hundreds of recipes. It’s honestly like a disease because once I start, I get so many ideas that I can’t put my laptop down and when it’s finally time for me to get up…I’m completely exhausted. Well as you probably guessed, this recipe is a result of one of my many issues trying to fall asleep.

Never in my life have I heard of a “clafoutis” but it was tagged under custards on one of the blogs that it’s pretty safe to say I read religiously. Kamil loves custard and he loves berries so the recipe sparked my interest right away. A clafoutis is a French dessert that contains fruit, typically cherries, and is topped with a flan-like batter (aka custard). I love new experiences in the kitchen which is why I settled on this recipe, but the results I got weren’t exactly what I would call expected.

Individual Raspberry Clafoutis Recipe

Adapted from Baking Bites

  • 12 fresh raspberries
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  1. Preheat oven to 425° F
  2. Wash and dry raspberries,. Take out six 6-oz ramekins or oven-safe custard cups and place 4 raspberries in the bottom of each.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add in milk, eggs, vanilla and almond extracts and whisk very vigorously until mixture is smooth and lump-free
  4. Divide custard evenly into ramekins, filling each about 2/3 – 3/4 full. Raspberries berries may float up a bit, which is fine
  5. Place ramekins on a baking sheet. Turn the oven temperature down to 350° F as you put the baking sheet in the oven
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until a sharp knife inserted into the center of each clafoutis comes out clean
  7. Let cool for about 15 minutes before serving. Clafoutis will fall somewhat during cooling

I really did not expect them to rise as much as they did, especially since they were about 3/4 full if that. But they did deflate quite a bit once they cooled

Not sure if I would call this recipe a disaster or a success but I decided to call it a day since I’m leaving for San Diego tomorrow! Again, no more updating for a little while 😦

Leave a Reply

