RSS Feed

Fried Cookies?!

Just like I promised, here’s the continuation from the previous post. I have no idea what inspired this recipe, I honestly think it was the process of stumbling upon an unopened box of Cap’n Crunch Cereal in my cabinet that did it but I was so excited to try it. Plus something about frying always gets me riled up. I’m weird, I know.

Basic Butter Cookie Recipe

Epicurious

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup crushed Cap’n Crunch cereal, divided
  • 1 cup sweetened coconut flakes, divided
  1. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl
  2. Beat together butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes in a standing mixer (preferably fitted with paddle attachment) or 6 with a handheld. Beat in egg and vanilla. Reduce speed to low, then add flour mixture and mix until just combined
  3. Form dough into mini dough balls, roll in crushed cereal and coconut mixture, and freeze on cookie sheet for at least 30 minutes to firm up

Coating Recipe

Adapted from Emeril Lagasse

  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • Vegetable oil, for frying
  1. In a bowl, beat the eggs and sugar. Dip the coated dough balls into the eggs, then roll in the crumb mixture, coating completely. Freeze for 1 hour
  2. Heat the oil in a large pot or fryer to 350° F. One at a time, lower the balls into the oil and fry until golden brown, about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Remove from the oil and place on a paper towel lined plate to drain

They were so cute rolling around in the coconut and cereal!

After round 1 of coating. I was worried the cereal wasn’t going to stick to the cookie as well as the coconut but it turned out alright after round 2

This is them after being dipped in the egg batter and going for another roll in the coating. I ended up using more than 1 cup of each because towards the end the cereal just became too soggy due to the eggs and didn’t want to stick to the dough

I was a little nervous about the temperature of my oil due to issues with my stove top heating up so I ended up going back and re-frying a few, which is why some look a little crispier than others

Overall, I’m still a little iffy about this recipe and the execution of it. My dad did try one and said they were good (he said they tasted “sweet” and “tender”)…but keep in mind this is also a man who makes himself peanut butter, banana, and mayonnaise sandwiches when he gets hungry. I also forced my mom to try one and although she complained about them being “sooo bad” (calorie-wise) she also enjoyed them and described them as being almost like a fritter. I suppose I was just nervous about the dough being too raw in the center but these fried cookies were certainly fragrant with the combination of the sweet cereal and coconut flakes!

4 responses »

  1. Seen your internet site via msn the other day and absolutely adore it. Carry on this fantastic work.

    Reply
  2. This is a wonderful post and may be one that you should followed up to see what happens

    A pal sent this link the other day and I am eagerly looking your next piece of writing. Carry on on the fantastic work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

