RSS Feed

Milky Way Cupcakes

Okay want to know something really sad? I haven’t had candy in such a long time that I actually forgot the difference between Milky Way bars and Snickers bars. I just always remembered liking Milky Ways so much more. So I did a little research…

It turns out in a Milky Way, the center of the bar is nougat, which is made by whipping egg whites with other ingredients until light and frothy to make a frappe. Flavorings, such as cocoa and malt, are added to the frappe to create the signature flavor nougat. Snickers, along with being packed with nougat, chocolate, and caramel as well, also has peanuts…oh and it’s apparently the best selling chocolate bar of all time according to Wikipedia (I’ll take a Milky way over a Snickers any day!).

Anyway, my mom’s work is having some kind of get-together and she told them she’d bring cupcakes which really translates to “Katie will you bake something for me?” Of course I would never pass up the opportunity so I decided to bake “Snickers cupcakes.” But what confused me about this recipe is that it contains no peanuts at all, not even for a garnish. I suppose if I had some in my pantry I could throw them on top and call it a day but since I don’t, I decided to title these Milky Way cupcakes instead. It just seems more fitting. And well, in my opinion, they’re just better.

Milky Way Cupcakes Recipe

Homemade by Holman

Cake

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup boiling water
  1. Preheat oven to 350° and line pans with cupcake liners
  2. Combine sugar through salt in a large bowl.  Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla and beat on low until just incorporated.  Increase speed to medium and beat two minutes
  3. Stir in boiling water, the batter will be thin.  Transfer batter to prepared pans, filling each liner about 2/3 of the way full (approximately 1/4 cup of batter)
  4. Bake approximately 22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean
  5. Cool in pans about five minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely
  6. When cool, use a paring knife to cut a small cone shape out of the top of each cupcake.  Add caramel sauce as desired

Frosting

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup caramel sauce
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 8 mini Snickers bar for garnish (I used mini milky ways)
  1. Beat butter on medium speed until smooth and creamy, about two minutes
  2. Add caramel sauce, heavy cream and vanilla and mix to incorporate
  3. Add powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating on low speed until incorporated to reach the right consistency.  Increase speed to medium-high and whip about one minute until light and fluffy
  4. Fill a piping bag and pipe onto cupcakes or frost as desired
  5. Coarsely chop candy bars and sprinkle over the top of cupcakes

I really love how the bright colors of the cupcake liners made these cupcakes look so fun 🙂

The recipe suggested using a knife to cut out a hole in the center of each cupcake. That just seemed way too difficult so I decided to poke a well into the center of each cake using a plastic straw which made pouring the caramel sooo easy!

Originally, I just started frosting the cupcakes the old-fashioned way with a simple plastic knife. But then I changed my mind and decided I wanted to use a piping bag instead because these weren’t just for my friends and I wanted them to look impressive. But still, this was my first time using one (sad, I know) and I didn’t start getting the hang of it until the third time filling it. I guess the third time is the charm. Anyway, please overlook my horrible frosting job!

And now since I am posting this at 2:30 in the morning (thank you once again insomnia)…it’s technically August 4th which means my mommy’s birthday is tomorrow! Yay more baking!!!!

Leave a Reply

