RSS Feed

Vanilla Raspberry Wafers

This recipe was actually supposed to be posted yesterday. Sorry about the delay!

Hm, where to begin. I don’t know how many Food Network fans actually read my blog but if there are any out there, you’ll probably appreciate this next little rant. I could not believe Aarti won The Next Food Network star. Right before her picture appeared, I told Kamil that I didn’t think she was going to win simply because she was a woman and last year Melissa d’Arabian won so I figured Food Network would want to mix it up a bit. Also, I was profoundly impressed by Tom’s improvement over the last couple of episodes and I really thought he was a shoe-in to win. I mean he may not have looked the part of a “Food Network star” but his jokes were hilarious and his big/bold kitchen flavors were very inspiring, at least for me. And come on- does Guy Fieri really look like a “Food Network Star” either? Don’t think so.

On the other hand, I suppose I could see where the judges were coming from. Aarti was definitely the most steady throughout the competition and her perspective of “injecting ” (she used this word quite a bit, I felt it was necessary to throw it in there) Indian flavors into every day cooking was pretty unique. And because Food Network only makes money when people actually watch the shows, they wanted someone who they knew was going to bring in the bucks rather than “taking a chance” (I believed that’s how they phrased it) on Tom or Herb.

This morning I was on Facebook and I saw that Food Network updated their status congratulating Aarti and there were about 600 comments, many of them bashing her. Don’t get me wrong, there was quite a few “congrats” but some of the comments were just plain nasty, saying they would never watch her show. One person even said the only reason she did win was because she’s Indian and Food Network likes to keep things fresh…but wasn’t Herb Puerto Rican and Cuban? Eh what do I know? Congrats anyway Aarti :).

On another Food Network related note, the premier of The Great Food Truck Race was on last night and I LOVED it! Even though I personally would probably never risk my health to eat at a food truck anywhere in the world, I think the idea of having a food truck is so cool. I probably enjoy the show so much because each truck offers different cuisine and the best part is, they don’t have to have full menus. As long as they’re good at one thing, they can make thousands! My favorite truck right now would probably have to be Crepes Bonaparte. They just seem to have it all together and I like the way they present themselves in such an organized and business-like manner. I really hope they go all the way!!!

Anways, today has been a really rough day and all night I’ve been looking forward to just baking all my troubles away. This recipe was inspired by Sprinkle Bakes Colorful Spiral Cookie Recipe that I’ve been meaning to give a whirl but unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand tonight.

Vanilla Chocolate Wafers Recipe

Adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for work surface
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 14 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon raspberry extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon red food coloring
  1. Sift flour and salt into a medium bowl; set aside. Put butter and sugar into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, and mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Reduce speed to low. Mix in egg yolk and vanilla. Gradually add flour mixture; mix until just combined, about 1 minute
  2. Remove half of the dough; set aside. Add raspberry extract and food coloring to remaining dough; mix on low speed until well combined. Turn out raspberry dough onto a lightly floured work surface. Roll into a 10-inch log, about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Repeat with reserved vanilla dough. Wrap each log in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until slightly firm, at least 30 minutes
  3. Press handle of a long wooden spoon into side of raspberry log, making an indentation along its length. Roll handle into and then away from log, creating an apostrophe shape. Repeat with vanilla log. Fit logs together; press lightly to seal. Gently roll into a 2-inch-diameter log. Wrap in plastic wrap, and freeze until firm, about 30 minutes
  4. Preheat oven to 350°. Cut log into 1/4-inch-thick rounds; space 1 inch apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. If dough becomes too soft to slice cleanly, return to freezer until firm
  5. Bake until firm to the touch, 10 to 12 minutes. Transfer to wire racks; let cool

The vanilla dough vs. the raspberry dough…who will win? 😉

Rolling and measuring this dough was such a pain! All it wanted to do was stick to the counter so be sure you have plenty of flour on hand!

Sadly, this is the finished product. I realize it looks nothing like Martha’s cookies, despite the fact that that was my intention all along. All I can say is that I was extremely confused by the wooden spoon apostrophe making process and this is why the cookies came out this way. After removing the dough out of the freezer and realizing it did not resemble her cookies in any way, shape, or form…I decided to perform a little cookie surgery and basically I just squeezed the two doughs together and plopped the dough onto the baking sheet. Good thing the dough resembled play-dough so well so it was really easy to recover from the failed yin-yang design

Leave a Reply

