RSS Feed

Cinnamon Apple Crumb Pie

As much as it kills me to say this, I’ve been holding out on you guys. I’ve had four drafts saved to my blog for about two weeks now, I just haven’t found the time to update this thing since (unfortunately) my school work comes first and I’ve been up to my eyeballs in papers and presentations lately. But now with Thanksgiving coming up, things have begun to slow down a bit and I cannot WAIT for break…as short as it may be. But with the holiday coming up, I already know I’m responsible for providing my family with dessert on Thanksgiving day so there should be a few more recipes coming your way very soon!

As for the recipe itself…it’s really a shame that I don’t bake out of my William’s Sonoma Baking Book more often. It truly is one of the best dessert books I’ve ever gotten and definitely worth my hard earned money! I’ve made pie-type desserts before but this is the first pie I’ve ever made in a 9″ pie pan and I was extremely nervous about the way the dough would turn out. I wasn’t quite brave enough to try a lattice topped pie yet but maybe one day :).

Cinnamon Apple Crumb Pie

William’s Sonoma Baking Book

Flaky Pastry Dough

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 3 tbsp. ice water, plus more if needed
  1. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, and salt
  2. Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut the butter into the flour mixture until the texture resembles coarse meal, with butter pieces no larger than small peas
  3. Add the 3 tbsp. water and mix with a fork until the dough pulls together. If the dough is dry, mix in more water 1 tbsp. at a time

Filling

  • 7 large, firm baking apples
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice, strained
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup apple butter

Topping

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 5 tbsp. cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  1. Roll out the dough disk into a 12-inch round. Transfer the fough round to a 9-inch pie pan or dish. Trim the edge of the dough round, leaving 1/4 inch of overhang. Fold the overhang under itself and pinch it together to create a high edge on the pan’s rim. Flute the edge decoratiely. Refrigerate or freeze until the pie shell is firm, about 30 minutes
  2. To make the topping, in a small bowl, stir together the flour, brown sugar,  cinnamon, and salt. Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly. Cover and chill in the refrigerator until ready to use.
  3. To make the filling, peel, halve, and core the apples, then cut them into 1/2-inch dice, you should have about 6 cups. Place the apples in a large bowl, sprinkle with the lemon juice, and toss to coat evenly. In a small bowl, stire together the granulated sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, salt, and apple butter. Sprinkle the sugar and apple butter mixture over the apples and toss to distribute evenly. Immediately transfer to the dough lined pan. Sprinkle evenly with the crumb topping. Refrigerate the pie until the dough is firm, 20-30 minutes
  4. Meanwhile, place an over rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 375 F. Bake the pie until the crust is golden and the filling is thick and bubbling, 50-60 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely to set. Serve at room temperature or rewarm in a 350 F oven for 10-15 minutes just before serving.

Step 1: rolling out the dough. I think this looks like a pretty successful pie crust, don’t you? It wasn’t even that flaky which was perfect for me so it was nice and easy to handle

I’ve yet to master the whole fluting process but I don’t care, I was darn proud of this crust!

Step 2: preparing the filling. I just wanted to devour those apples, forget the pie! This filling of course was prepared with my own little touch of Lyman Orchard’s apple butter 🙂

Step 3: and here we have the cinnamon streusel topping. Yummm…

And here’s the final product. Unfortunately, this is one of the only one’s I was able to get because the pie just went so fast 😦

5 responses »

  1. Please back this for me.
    ❤ fric

    Reply
  2. hello I was fortunate to look for your website in yahoo
    your subject is marvelous
    I obtain much in your Topics really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you website is really outstanding
    where can find it

    Reply
  3. how are you I was luck to look for your blog in yahoo
    your Topics is wonderful
    I get much in your theme really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you website is really fine
    where can find it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

