RSS Feed

Autumn Cream Fruit Strudel

While my pumpkin mousse cake was chilling in the fridge, I moved on to  my autumn cream fruit strudel. This was my first time ever working with phyllo dough so I had no idea what to expect. But those of you who have made recipes with it, I’m sure you can understand where I’m coming from when I say how frustrated I got! If you pull at it even just a little bit, it will tear on you and heaven forbid you forget to put the damp towel back over the dough, it will dry right out on you. Anyway, I managed to get all the layers of phyllo down to make my strudel and I don’t think it turned out half bad.

Autumn Cream Strudel

Adapted from Williams Sonoma

  • 12 sheets phyllo dough, thawed if frozen
  • 8 Tbs. (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 7 tsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup, divided
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • 3 tbs. honey
  • 3 or 4 tart apples, peeled, halved, cored and diced (about 3 cups)
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. plus 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  1. Position a rack in the lower third of an oven and preheat to 375°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Working with 1 phyllo sheet at a time and keeping the others covered with a barely damp kitchen towel to prevent them from drying out, place the first sheet on the parchment paper. Using a pastry brush, brush well with some of the melted butter. Lay a second phyllo on top of the first and brush again with butter. Sprinkle with 1 tsp. of the granulated sugar. Repeat, brushing every sheet with butter and sprinkling every other sheet with 1 tsp. granulated sugar, until all of the phyllo is used
  3. Mix together the cream cheese, 1/4 cup pure maple syrup, honey, and 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon. Spread the cream filling along one side of the phyllo stack, positioning it about 1 inch from the edge
  4. In a large bowl, toss together the apples, brown sugar, 1/4 cup maple  syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg and pecans. Arrange the apple filling over the cream filling. Fold the edge of the stack over the fillings, then carefully roll up the phyllo into a log with the seam side down. Brush the log with additional melted butter and sprinkle with the remaining 1 tsp. granulated sugar
  5. Bake the strudel until the phyllo is golden and the apples are tender when pierced with the tip of a knife, 45 to 55 minutes. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 30 minutes. Transfer the strudel to a long serving platter, cut crosswise and serve warm. Serves 8

Close-up of the cream filling

I diced up three granny smith apples and it was a bit much; I actually didn’t end up using all of the prepared filling

All the phyllo stacked on top of each other

Now the phyllo with the cream layer. Make sure you leave at least a 1 inch border!

And here’s everything! I probably used an excessive amount of the apple mixture filling and like I said, I didn’t even use it all…

Before baking

And after! Served on my nice holiday snowflake platter to get everyone in the Christmas spirit 😉

8 responses »

  1. Office 2010 Product Key

    I recently came across your web site and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my very first comment. Nice blog.I will keep visiting this website very frequently.

    Reply
  2. frostwire download

    one can argue that it can go both ways

    Reply
  3. Awesome recipe Katie, very original!

    We would love to feature it on http://www.maplesyrupworld.com/ recipe section.

    Give me a shout!

    Richard

    Reply
  4. conceive a girl

    I’ve bookmarked, Dugg, and I joined the RSS subscription. Thanks!

    Reply
  5. This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the volume of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

