RSS Feed

Funfetti Whoopie Pies

The first thing I did this morning (after my 8:30 am kickboxing class ughhh) was head over to Williams-Sonoma! After much deliberation, I settled on the whoopie pie pan I’ve been eyeing for months now. And since I was pretty much snowed in all day due to the huge snow storm ocurring outside my window at this very moment, I dedicated my afternoon to whipping up some whoopie pies! Although I can say that even if were 80 degrees and sunny today, nothing would have stopped me from locking myself in my kitchen ;).

Funfetti Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pie

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 12 tbsp butter, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs + 2 egg whites, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (for a splurge, use vanilla bean paste!)
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 tbsp rainbow sprinkles
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt together in a separate bowl
  2. Add butter and sugar to another bowl and beat until creamy, about 3 minutes
  3. Add eggs and egg whites one at a time, beating on low. Add extracts, beat another minute
  4. Alternate adding the dry ingredients with the 1 cup milk, starting and ending with the dry ingredients. Stir in the sprinkles
  5. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool on wire racks

Cream Cheese Filling

Martha Stewart

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. Sift powdered sugar into a medium bowl; set aside
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter until smooth
  3. Add cream cheese and beat until well combined
  4. Add confectioners’ sugar and vanilla, beat just until smooth
Pre-baked
Post-baked
And decorated
2 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness lady! I need to find me a whoopie pie pan. These are the cutest and yummiest looking things.

    Reply
  2. Haha thank you so much! They’re only $19.95 at Williams-Sonoma!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

