RSS Feed

Vanilla Valentine Cupcakes

Ever since I was little, I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day simply because I used to have so much fun filling out valentine cards and seeing who would give me one as well. Today I still love this holiday but for different reasons. Because I get to spend it with the love of my life :)!

As for the recipe, it didn’t exactly turn out how I hoped. I baked a sheet cake which I added pink food coloring to so that when I cut out pieces of cake using a heart shaped cookie cutter and baked a cupcake around it, you would be able to see the heart when you bit into it. However my oven SUCKS and over-baked the cake (even though I took it out 7 minutes before I should have) and the pink color wasn’t dark enough so the heart pretty much blended in with the cupcake. Yet it was still very tasty!

Sheet Cake

About.com

  • 2-1/4 cups sifted cake flour
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 egg whites
  • 4-5 drops red food coloring

Billy’s Vanilla, Vanilla Cupcake

Martha Stewart

  • 1 3/4 cups cake flour, not self-rising
  • 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Billy’s Vanilla Buttercream

Martha Stewart

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 6 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 13×9″ pan and line bottom with waxed paper. Sift flour, sugar, and baking powder into a large mixer bowl. Add butter, salt, milk and vanilla. Beat on slow speed until blended. Then beat on medium speed for 2 minutes, occasionally scraping down the sides of the bowl. Add unbeaten egg whites and beat two minutes longer at medium speed. Mix in enough drops of red food coloring to turn the batter a dark pink/light red shade
  2. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until cake is light golden brown and is beginning to pull away from the sides of the pan. Cool completely
  3. Once cool, cut the cake in half out as many hearts as you can from both halves of the cake. Save the scraps for snacking (trust me, you’ll want to!)
  4. Turn oven down to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners and put a cake heart inside each one; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt; mix on low speed until combined. Add butter, mixing until just coated with flour
  5. In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down sides of bowl before each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat
  6. Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about 2/3 full. Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 17 to 20 minutes
  7. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat process with remaining batter
  8. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter until smooth and creamy, 2 to 3 minutes. With mixer on low speed, add 6 cups sugar, milk, and vanilla; mix until light and fluffy. If necessary, gradually add remaining 2 cups sugar to reach desired consistency
  9. Frost cupcakes and decorate with pretty Valentine’s Day sprinkles!!

Pre-baked sheet cake

Cutting out the hearts. Aren’t these adorable?! This part was so much fun!

Pre-baked cupcakes with the hearts inside them!

I was so disappointed to cut into it only to find you can hardly see the heart 😦

That’s okay, they still got great reviews. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!!!

7 responses »

  1. I just want to mention I am beginner to blogging and definitely liked you’re blog. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with wonderful well written articles. Appreciate it for sharing your blog site.

    Reply
  2. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogs and honestly liked your blog. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You really have good articles. Cheers for sharing with us your webpage.

    Reply
  3. Business Meeting

    I dugg some with you post as I thought we were looking at very helpful very useful once I observed this web site I went on reddit to share a few of the love with them.

    Reply
  4. I became honored to get a call from my friend as he observed the important points shared on your site. Studying your blog publication is a real amazing experience. Many thanks for thinking of readers much like me, and I hope for you the best of success like a professional in this area.

    Reply
  5. best ecigarette

    Thanks for this post. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my brother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

    Reply
  6. quick florida insurance

    This page appears to get a good ammount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

