RSS Feed

Orange & Cream Whoopie Pies

This recipe was somewhat of a disaster. In theory it was a great idea but the execution didn’t go as planned. I used a cake mix for the batter which obviously made them more cakey than cookie-like so they fell apart completely when I attempted to take them out of the pan. They still tasted delicious don’t get me wrong, but I think this recipe would have worked so much better as orange & cream cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting.

Orange & Cream Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pie

Adapted from Real Mom Kitchen

  • 1 package of yellow cake mix
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of orange zest
  • 1 cup of Stewart’s Orange ‘n Cream soda
  • 1/2 cup of canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs
  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, sugar, and orange zest. Whisk to combine. Add orange juice, canola oil, vanilla extract and eggs. Blend with the mixer on low speed for one minute, then speed it up to medium and beat for 2 more minutes
  3. Fill whoopie pie pan about 1/2 to 2/3 full. Bake until golden in color and a toothpick test comes out clean, about 10 minutes
  4. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely

Cream Cheese Filling

Martha Stewart

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

This is really the only half-decent picture I felt comfortable posting. I told you they fell apart when I tried taking them out of the pan so take my advice, make these into cupcakes!

4 responses »

  1. Kermit Dewick

    I just want to say I am just new to blogging and site-building and definitely enjoyed you’re blog site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You really have amazing writings. Appreciate it for sharing your web page.

    Reply
  2. I have not checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are really good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

    Reply
  3. nice site. I’ll be a frequent visitor for a long time.

    Reply
  4. Panic Attack Treatment

    Thanks a ton for being the instructor on this topic. My partner and i enjoyed your article very much and most of all cherished how you really handled the issues I widely known as controversial. You’re always extremely kind to readers much like me and assist me to in my life. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

