RSS Feed

Cookies & Cream Cupcakes

This recipe was really done completely out of the blue. My mom went to the store and I asked her to get me some oreo cookies with the full intention that I would make cookies & cream ice cream, especially considering I bought some cookies & cream sprinkles from A.C Moore recently. But then I remembered I had some instant oreo pudding mix in my pantry and I guess I just went with it!

Cookies & Cream Cupcakes

Cupcakes

Adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 (4.2 oz) package instant cookies & cream pudding mix
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 12 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 20 oreo cookies, finely chopped

Cookies & Cream Buttercream

Adapted from Savory Sweet Life

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks or 1/2 pound), softened
  • 3-4 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2-4 tablespoons milk or heavy cream
  • 10 oreo cookies, finely chopped
  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, pudding mix, baking powder, and salt. Set aside
  3. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Mix in the vanilla extract
  4. Add flour mixture and milk alternately, beginning and ending with flour. Scrape the sides and bottom of bowl to assure the batter is thoroughly mixed. Stir in oreo cookie crumbs. Divide batter evenly among liners, filling papers about 2/3 full. Bake about 20 minutes. Cool on wire racks
  5. Beat butter for a few minutes with a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed.  Add 3 cups of powdered sugar and turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the sugar doesn’t blow everywhere) until the sugar has been incorporated with the butter
  6. Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, salt,  and 2 tablespoons of milk/cream and beat for for 3 minutes.  If your frosting needs a more stiff consistency, add remaining sugar.  If your frosting needs to be thinned out, add remaining milk 1 tablespoons at a time. Beat in oreo cookie crumbs

Close-up of the batter

Pre-baked

Post-baked

I made the frosting a little too thick so I wasn’t strong enough to push it through my mechanical pastry bag. Kamil did it for me and he said I’m not allowed to criticize his work on my blog so I’ll have to keep that part a secret. I’m just kidding, he did a really good job :)…

…Probably even better than me

Leave a Reply

