French Toast Cupcakes

The other day I ran into a recipe for “french toast snickerdoodles” on Sugar Plum’s blog and I thought the idea of using pancake syrup rather than real maple syrup was genius so I decided to make french toast cupcakes!

French Toast Cupcakes

Cake

Adapted from Pamela Clark

  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons pancake syrup

Maple Buttercream Frosting

Adapted from The Curvy Carrot

  • 3 and 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons pancake syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 325° F. Line standard muffin pan with paper baking cups
  2. Sift dry ingredients into small bowl, add butter, egg, milk, and syrup; beat on low speed until ingredients are combined. Increase speed to medium, beat until mixture is changed to a paler brown color. Divide evenly among baking cups and smooth the surface
  3. Bake cakes about 30 minutes. Turn cakes onto wire rack to cool
  4. With an electric mixer, beat butter until pale and fluffy
  5. Add powdered sugar on high speed, 1/4 cup at a time until desired consistency is reached
  6. Add vanilla, pancake syrup, and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, beating on high speed for another minute
  7. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes

A close-up of the “paler brown” batter right before I spooned it into the cupcake liners

I was so excited because I finally got to use my mechanical pastry bag to frost these cupcakes. Don’t they look amazing?! I felt like such a professional!

I couldn’t help myself, I took so many pictures of these cupcakes. Plus I got to have fun experimenting with different piping techniques as well

This recipe is perfect for fast, easy, yummy tasting cupcakes because it only requires one bowl for the batter! However, it doesn’t yield very many cupcakes (I managed to only make 10) so if you’re looking to feed a crowd, I would consider doubling or even tripling the recipe 🙂

2 responses »

  1. How is it that just anybody can write a blog and get as popular as this? Its not like youve said anything incredibly impressive 杕ore like youve painted a pretty picture over an issue that you know nothing about! I dont want to sound mean, here. But do you really think that you can get away with adding some pretty pictures and not really say anything?

    Reply
  2. Some people are just rude, unhappy people. If you want to read about important issues, read the news. If you want a great recipe, search a great blog. Keep baking and keep blogging about it! These look delish!

    Reply

Leave a comment